The 2012 Queensland Smart Design Awards honoured an incredible stable of established and emerging Queensland design practitioners. The Fellowship nominees were Kevin Finn, Shane Thompson, Christina Waterson, Anne-Marie Willis and Natalie Wright. The Emerging Design Leader Award finalists were Jenni Baxter, Kathryn Gough, Amy Saunders and Jenica Smith.

Esteemed Brisbane architect Shane Thompson took out the 2012 Queensland Smart Design Fellowship. Mr Thompson received his award at the 2012 Queensland Smart Design Awards presentation at The Edge, State Library of Queensland on 28 June, while landscape architect Amy Saunders won the Emerging Design Leader Award.

Mr Thompson’s outstanding contribution to Queensland’s design culture, as an advocate, teacher, mentor and architect, throughout a career spanning 30 years made him a unanimous choice for the judging panel. A director and principal of BVN Architecture from 1987 to 2011, he recently established Shane Thompson Architects.  He is also an Adjunct Professor at the University of Queensland and President of Australian Institute Architect’s Queensland Chapter.

The judging panel applauded Mr Thompson’s strong participation in community consultation, his cross-sector collaboration and ongoing work with the education system to create a stronger Queensland design sector.

“Shane has championed design principles and been a leader in designing buildings to suit Queensland’s unique sub-tropical climate,” said Stephanie Pemberton, Chair of the judging panel and program director of the Australian International Design Awards.

The judges recognised Ms Saunders as an outstanding young emerging designer in Queensland. As well as her practice as a public space designer at ecological design firm Yurrah, she is a design tutor at Queensland University of Technology, and volunteers with [co]design studio, demonstrating a strong sustainability and community focus. In 2010, she launched Vibrant Places with the project Games Night @ King George Square and these giant games are now a regular monthly event sponsored by the Brisbane City Council. The judges applauded Amy’s innovative, professional and collaborative approach to public space design and community engagement. Ms Saunders will use her bursary to fly the flag for Queensland at international design events, including the London Design Festival.









The 2012 Queensland Smart Design Awards also marked the launch of Design Minds (www.designminds.org.au), a central online location for design education resources, developed along with State Library of Queensland’s Asia Pacific Design Library’s Design Online website and promoted through Education Queensland’s The Learning Place.

Design Minds is an initiative of Arts Queensland, developed in partnership with State Library of Queensland, endorsed by QUEENSLANDERSIGN™. Design Minds is an online resource that encourages knowledge and skills exchange and development in design education by explaining, inspiring and empowering teachers and students through the use of practical resources and toolkits.

Content for Design Minds includes design education resources developed from the first four years (2008–12) of Queensland’s Smithsonian Institution National Design Museum Fellowship – Queensland teachers who have spent time at the world-renowned education department at the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum in New York.

The 2008–12 Fellows are: Mr Leslie Hooper, Head of department of Visual Arts, Kelvin Gove State College; Mr Kevin Collins, Barcaldine State School, and now Principal St Joseph’s School, Barcaldine; Mr Alwyn Powell, Head of Curriculum, Darling Heights State School; and Mr Adam Jefford, Visual Art & Multimedia teacher, Windaroo Valley State High School.

One of the pilot programs for Design Minds – the ‘Sit-Art’ project – has seen students at Kelvin Grove State College create new seating for the Myer Centre food court.

The Queensland Smart Design Awards support Queensland’s growing reputation for world-class design. The aim of the Awards is to build on the exciting energy of Queensland designers in all fields and ensure all government agencies are committed to promoting and demonstrating the value of design and encouraging its integration into business, the community and public sector through schools, hospitals and public spaces. The 2012 Queensland Smart Design Awards are supported by ABC Radio National, Architecture Media and the Indesign Group.

To read about the QSDA Winners and Nominees view the QPDA Brochure here.

Visit the Arts Queensland website to find out more about the Queensland Smart Design Awards.

More images of the QPDA presentation and Design Mind launch can be viewed on our Facebook.


Post a Comment


* Required Fields